Indy 500 live updates, results, highlights from the 2021 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

It’s finally time to watch the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. 

Drivers will race the Indianapolis 500 today with ambitions of coming away with the trophy and a glass of milk. And for the first time since 2019, it will be in front of fans. 

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway has opened its gates to 135,000 people to see the race in person, the largest gathering since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Sporting News is tracking live updates and highlights from the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday. Follow for complete results from the 2021 race at the Brickyard.

MORE: Watch the Indy 500 live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Indy 500 live updates, highlights from 2021 race

12:03 p.m.: As drivers are introduced, last year’s winner, Takuma Sato, receives a standing ovation for the first time in front of fans since winning his second Indy 500. 

How to watch the Indianapolis 500

  • Time: 12:45 p.m. ET
  • TV channel: NBC
  • Live streams: NBC Sports | Peacock | fuboTV

For those that won’t be able to watch the Indy 500 on cable, there are many options to stream the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. Instead of purchasing NBC Sports Gold’s IndyCar Pass as in past years, racing fans can subscribe to Peacock Premium, which will have access to all IndyCar racing content that the previous service had. 

There are also other options for streaming. Below are the links for each one.

Indy 500 starting lineup

Most of the 33-car Indy 500 starting lineup was set May 22, when the 10-30 spots were set based on qualifying times. The nine fastest drivers then competed in the Fast Nine Shootout to set the order for the first nine spots.

Here are the complete qualifying results from the Indianapolis 500:

Pos. Car No. Driver
1 9 Scott Dixon
2 26 Colton Herta
3 21 Rinus VeeKay
4 20 Ed Carpenter
5 48 Tony Kanaan
6 10 Alex Palou
7 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay
8 6 Helio Castroneves
9 8 Marcus Ericsson
10 27 Alexander Rossi
11 18 Ed Jones
12 5 Pato O’Ward
13 51 Pietro Fittipaldi
14 7 Felix Rosenqvist
15 30 Takuma Soto
16 29 James Hinchcliffe
17 3 Scott McLaughlin
18 15 Graham Rahal
19 47 Conor Daly
20 60 Jack Harvey
21 2 Josef Newgarden
22 1 J.R. Hildebrand
23 45 Santino Ferrucci
24 86 Juan Pablo Montoya
25 98 Marco Andretti
26 22 Simon Pagenaud
27 14 Sebastien Bourdais
28 25 Stefan Wilson
29 59 Max Chilton
30 4 Dalton Kellett
31 24 Sage Karam
32 12 Will Power
33 16 Simona de Silvestro

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button